MAIN

 

DREAM NAILS

IN POST PRODUCTION

Shortfilm with Dance
10 minutes

Cast: Cyndi Williams, Khoa Tien Dang, Gayland Williams, Jacqui Cross-Williams, Nguyen Stanton,
Tuyen Quang Thái, Manuela Rodriguez-Dantzler, Tiffany Nguyen, Gohe Tekeste, Michelle Lê

Writer / Director: Katja Straub
Director of Photography: Huay-Bing Law
Production Designer: Nazanin Shirazi
Editor: Gal Yaron Mayersohn
Choreographer: Ellen Stader 
Costume Designer: Colin Wilkes
Sound Designer: Brian Ramos

Producer Germany: Johanna Aust, FLICKFILM
Producer USA: Todd Ruhnau 
Co-Producer: Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
Production funded by BKM and Austin Film Society

 

Synopsis

Cindy (65) visits Dream Nails to get a manicure from Duc, the young, handsome Vietnamese technician. All Cindy wants is to focus on Duc’s soft touch, yet she’s viscerally aware of the tense, cramped and heavily decorated salon.

A young woman complains about her polish, people argue in hushed voices and others struggle around language barriers. When Duc finally begins the hand massage Cindy’s been waiting for, she melts with pleasure.

Her imagination envelops the room and the consciousness of everyone around her. For a fleeting moment nail technicians and customers become transformed by a surreal togetherness, as they join in a synchronized dance number.

 

Director’s Note

The idea for DREAM NAILS occurred to me when I got my first manicure in Austin, Texas in March of 2017. I went to a Vietnamese nail salon and it was quite an experience. Aside from the bold color and ornate decorations adorning the space, what struck me most was the slice of humanity found within. On the one hand, there is a rare intimacy between people sitting across the table from one another, but there’s also a palpable coldness, distance and anonymity.

To me, the nail salon embodies a microcosm of society, illustrating the stereotypes and cultural misunderstandings that can often result in prejudice and misrepresentation of different cultures. Ultimately this film is about human connection. In DREAM NAILS, we want to approach these issues in a forthright, yet playful manner. 

DREAM NAILS is set against the backdrop of social and global friction and deals with these issues in a playful manner. The film is about overcoming fear, misunderstanding, and prejudice in order to realize that we are all more similar than we believe.

 

Visuelles Konzept

DREAM NAILS uses lush production design to invite the viewer into its own world. Color plays a major role. Each customer has her own color coding, which also separates them from each other. Only later during the dance sequence this leads to a sea of colors in which each color becomes part of a whole and adds to the feeling of versatility. 

Camera and editing work reflect the protagonist Cindy’s inner world. At first shots are calm and observational with attention to detail: extreme long fingernails being painted, pearls of sweat glisten on the forehead of a nail practitioner, elaborate earrings rattle with movement. The more chaotic the atmosphere around Cindy becomes, the more it is echoed in camera work and editing.   

Visually DREAM NAILS is inspired by dance films of the 70s and 80s. For example the play of color and dreamlikeness in “The Young Girls of Rochefort” by Jacques Demy or the lush stylization in “Hairspray” by John Waters. 

 

A huge Thank You to our Kickstarter doners:

Meike Köster, Irene & Kolonat Straub, Majken Rehder, Juliet Dervin, Oliver Weiß, Hilah Johnson, Frances Holliday Alford, Sasche Kubiak, Alexa Wojtas, Javier Bonafont, Neels Kattentidt, David Hartstein, Anna Anders, Lan Chu, Oliver Haffner, Jacon Bricca, Samuel Jørgensen, Leah Manners, Nilou Safinya, Debra J Dodson, Caroline Smith, Sunny Cho, Huay-Bing Law, Ulrike Denninger, Arnaud Obermann, Chad Dawson, Johannes Gauss, Andreas Straub, Chris Ohlson, Rachel Ecklund, Caleb Figge, Shara Lange, PJ Raval, Naiti Gamez, Julie Ann Holden, Kyle Henry, Geoff Marslett, Karina Smigla-Bobinski, Tamar Tessler, Nicole Wolf, Darren Ruhnau, Jeremy Dehn, Meggy Seemann, Deva Burgdorf, Alexander Klepzig, Ariane Bischoff, Almuth Krisko, Elizabeth Jackson, The Bear, Judith Klapper, Lisa Gross, Inadevi Fürstenau-Burgdorf, Chris McInroy, Viola Isenbürger, Zach Morrison, Kara Moody, Karen Kocher, Terry Hiner, Cathy & Ken Bradley

MAIN

 

DREAM NAILS

IN POSTPRODUKTION

Kurzfilm mit Tanz
10 Minuten

Darsteller: Cyndi Williams, Khoa Tien Dang, Gayland Williams, Nguyen Stanton, Jacqui Cross, Tuyen, Manuela Rodriguez-Dantzler, Tiffany Su, Gohe Makonnen, Michelle Le

Drehbuch / Regie: Katja Straub
Kamera: Huay-Bing Law
Schnitt: Gal Yaron Mayersohn
Szenenbild: Nazanin Shirazi
Choreographie: Ellen Stader
Kostüm: Colin Wilkes
Sound Design: Brian Ramos

Produzentin: Johanna Aust, FLICKFILM
Ko-Produzent: Todd Ruhnau
Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF

Produktion gefördert von BKM und Austin Film Society

 

Synopsis

Cindy (65) lässt sich im vietnamesischen Nagelstudio Dream Nails von ihrem jungen, attraktiven Lieblingsnagelpfleger Duc eine Maniküre machen.

Während sie versucht, seine Berührung zu genießen, herrscht um sie herum jedoch Lärm, Misskommunikation und Feindseligkeit. Cindys Sehnsucht nach Nähe und Harmonie wirkt sich zunehmend magisch auf die anderen Personen im Raum aus.

Die Bewegungen der Anderen beginnen zu synchronisieren. Zunächst vereinzelt und gegen deren Willen, dann ergibt sich der Raum in einer kollektiven Tanznummer.

 

Director’s Note

Die Idee zu DREAM NAILS entstand, als ich im März 2017 die erste Maniküre meines Lebens bekam. Ich besuchte ein vietnamesisches Nagelstudio in Austin, Texas und war fasziniert von diesem Ort und dem extremen Kontrast von Nähe und Distanz: Auf der einen Seite besteht intimer Körperkontakt – Füße werden massiert, Hände werden gehalten und eingecremt, man sitzt Schulter an Schulter mit anderen Kundinnen. Und doch existiert eine streng eingehaltene Anonymität. 

Dabei könnte Kommunikation hier so interessant sein! Die Nagelstudios in Texas sind groß und voll von Menschen verschiedenster sozialer und ethnischer Herkunft. In einem Land, wo die sozialen Unterschiede als auch die Abgrenzungen untereinander noch größer sind als in Deutschland, scheinen sich alle im Nagelstudio zu treffen. Diese Nagelstudios wirken auf mich wie Mikrokosmen der Gesellschaft, mit repräsentativen kulturellen Missverständnissen, welche in Vorurteilen resultieren und die Menschen davon abhalten, miteinander in Kontakt zu treten. 

DREAM NAILS entsteht vor dem Hintergrund zwischenmenschlicher sowie globaler politischer Unstimmigkeiten und widmet sich diesen Themen spielerisch. Es geht es darum, Angst, Missverständnisse und Vorurteile zu überwinden und zu erkennen, dass wir uns alle ähnlicher sind, als wir glauben.

 

Visuelles Konzept

DREAM NAILS ist ein Ausstattungsfilm. Das Szenenbild im Nagelstudio ist üppig und detailverliebt und lädt den Zuschauer in eine eigene Welt ein. Farbe spielt eine große Rolle. Jeder Kundin ist ein ihr eigener Farbton zugeordnet. Durch diese Codierung werden die Figuren auch von einander abgesetzt. Erst später, wenn alle miteinander tanzen, ergibt sich daraus ein Farbenmeer in dem jede Farbe ein Teil des Ganzen wird und ein neues Gefühl der Vielseitigkeit entsteht.

Kamera und Montage spiegeln die Wahrnehmung der Protagonistin Cindy wider. Zunächst sind die Einstellungen ruhig und beobachtend mit viel Aufmerksamkeit zum Detail: Extrem lange Fingernägel werden lackiert, Schweißperlen glänzen auf der Stirn der Nagelpflegerin, aufwendige Ohrringe klappern bei jeder Bewegung. Je chaotischer sich die Atmosphäre um Cindy herum entwickelt, desto extremer und schneller wird mit den visuellen Mitteln des Films gearbeitet. Wenn der Tanz beginnt, sind die Kamerabewegungen fließend und unterstützen die Harmonie.

Die Filmsprache ist inspiriert von Tanzfilmen der 70er und 80er Jahre. Zum Beispiel von dem Farbenspiel und der Traumhaftigkeit in „Les Demoiselles de Rochefort“ von Jacques Demy oder der lustvollen stilistischen Überzeichnung in „Hairspray“ von John Waters.

 

Wir bedanken uns herzlich bei unseren Kickstarter Sponsoren:

Meike Köster, Irene & Kolonat Straub, Majken Rehder, Juliet Dervin, Oliver Weiß, Hilah Johnson, Frances Holliday Alford, Sasche Kubiak, Alexa Wojtas, Javier Bonafont, Neels Kattentidt, David Hartstein, Anna Anders, Lan Chu, Oliver Haffner, Jacon Bricca, Samuel Jørgensen, Leah Manners, Nilou Safinya, Debra J Dodson, Caroline Smith, Sunny Cho, Huay-Bing Law, Ulrike Denninger, Arnaud Obermann, Chad Dawson, Johannes Gauss, Andreas Straub, Chris Ohlson, Rachel Ecklund, Caleb Figge, Shara Lange, PJ Raval, Naiti Gamez, Julie Ann Holden, Kyle Henry, Geoff Marslett, Karina Smigla-Bobinski, Tamar Tessler, Nicole Wolf, Darren Ruhnau, Jeremy Dehn, Meggy Seemann, Deva Burgdorf, Alexander Klepzig, Ariane Bischoff, Almuth Krisko, Elizabeth Jackson, The Bear, Judith Klapper, Lisa Gross, Inadevi Fürstenau-Burgdorf, Chris McInroy, Viola Isenbürger, Zach Morrison, Kara Moody, Karen Kocher, Terry Hiner, Cathy & Ken Bradley